Financial Express print this

Beximco, Epyllion in Corporate Cricket League final


Beximco Group and Epyllion Group Tuesday booked the final seats in the GrameenPhone 3rd Corporate Cricket League outplaying their respective rivals in low-scoring matches at different venues in City, reports BDNEWS.
The final is billed for Thursday at Dhanmondi Cricket Stadium.
A captain's knock from Akram Khan helped Beximco Group register a four-wicket victory over Gazi Tank Cricketers at the Fatullah Cricket Stadium while Epyllion Group recorded a nerve-wreaking one wicket win over The ACME Laboratories at Dhanmondi Cricket Stadium.
Winning the toss, Gazi Tank captain Khaled Mahmud opted to bat first, but his comrades failed to resist the opponent bowlers as they were bowled out for paltry 160 in 43.3 overs.
Openers Golam Rahman (26) and Nazimuddin (22) made a good start putting 40-run for the first wicket stand before being separated.
At one stage Gazi Tank lost six wickets for 86 and national cricketers Manjarul Islam Rana and Khaled Mahmud put 27-run for the seventh wicket stand before Rana (20) was bowled by Abdur Razzak Raj.
Mahmud scored 43 off 56 with three fours and two sixes.
Nazmul Hossain, Steve Tikolo, Mahbubul Alam and Mehrab Hossain Jr took two wickets each.
Beximco also faced a little resistance from the opponents as they lost four wickets for 34.
But opener Rajin Saleh and skipper Akram Khan repaired the early damage putting on 72 runs for the fifth wicket stand before Rajin being caught to Manjurul off Rana.
Rajin played a patient 44 off 99 balls with five fours and one six while Akram Khan added 59 off 81 balls featuring nine fours.
Wicketkeeper M Shaheen contributed a finishing unbeaten 36 off 43 balls with seven fours to confirm the victory.
Mahmud and Rana grabbed two wickets each.
Opted to bat first The ACME were bundled out for 185 in 45.1 overs as Tareq Aziz, Yasir Arafat and Shahadat Hossain Razib shared seven wickets.